Day Made of Glass: Glass Innovation or Too Much Like Minority Report?

I shared this video by Corning with my Product Planning students at Carnegie Mellon this week.  They had some great observations about the consistency of the interfaces.  The reaction was mostly positive.

They did expressed some concern with ubiquitous displays and how they might distract people from tasks like cooking or driving.

One student also mentioned that all that glass with touchscreen interaction, would lead to needing to clean up a lot of fingerprints.

I think it’s a great speculative piece how a set of technologies could look with the right integration and design.

I was a little worried when the kiosk in the clothing store recognized Jennifer and brought up items that would fit her shopping habits.  I’m not sure I want that level of convenience at the expense of the privacy you’d give up to get it.

8 thoughts on “Day Made of Glass: Glass Innovation or Too Much Like Minority Report?

  1. I feel like I’m often looking for interesting things to read about a variety of niches, but I manage to include your blog among my reads every day because you have compelling entries that I look forward to. Here’s hoping there’s a lot more amazing material coming!

Leave a Reply

